While a database is a collection of resources that can be searched and retrieved by a user, we actually interact with those databases through an interface or platform, such as the JSTOR website. These platforms present results in a visually appealing and logical way to make finding information easier. They may also include additional tools that support the research process. This page highlights some powerful tools available in some of our databases for getting started with research.
Pro Tip: There are two "levels" of sign-in for most library databases.
Troubleshooting:
Things get confusing when you are logged in at the institutional level, but not the personal level or vice versa. If you cannot find resources or features you usually see, make sure you are logged in at both levels.
Institutional Login--In order to restrict access to library licensed resources to only our defined user communities (i.e. the students, faculty, and staff at SUSLA), all users wishing to access our resources must provide the appropriate credentials to do so. In other words, users are authenticated. If you are on the campus network, this should happen seamlessly. You are authenticated based on IP address. When you are off-campus, you may have to go through the remote authentication process by providing a university-assigned username (900- or U- number) and PIN (birthdate).
Personal Login--Many database platforms have built-in features to make saving and retrieving past research easier, such as the ability to save, organize, and share documents you find. To utilize these features, you will need to create a personal login for each platform you use.
JSTOR Text Analyzer allows users to upload syllabi, outlines, or articles to to generate lists of course readings or jumpstart research based on themes and topics in an outline, or find similar readings to an article of interest. This short video gives and overview of how to find and use the tool.
Credo Reference can be considered the academic version of Wikipedia. It provides the full text of a core set of dictionaries and other reference books for college students, making it a great place to start learning about a new research topic. Credo Reference includes interactive mind maps, which illustrate the relationships among topics and presents popular topics on "topic pages," which pull together reference entries with their relevant images and articles.
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is a single search interface which brings together all of the University Library's holdings, making it a great place to start if you want to cast a wide research net. The EDS search box can be found on the University Library web page, as well as at the bottom of each page in this Lib Guide.
The CQ Researcher platform publishes original articles on major topics in current events. It includes visualization tools, such as graphs and maps, and offers comprehensive coverage by presenting both "pro" and "con" sides of the debate. This feature, combined with the Bibliography and Next Step sections, makes it a great starting place for an argumentative essay.