Skip to Main Content

Library 101: Collections & Arrangement

This guide serves as an introduction to Library resources, checkout policies, hours, and research strategies. It provides a starting point for any new or returning students, faculty, and staff interested in starting research with library resources.

The University Library

Subject areas include humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, and business, with color-coded shelves to reflect these areas.

The University Library houses the following special collections:

 

Black Ethnic Archives

Books, newspapers, and other documents related to the history of African Americans in Shreveport and the region. A full collection of The Shreveport Sun, the city's historical African American newspaper, can also be found here.

 

Black Literature Collection

Books by or about African Americans 

 

Louisiana Collection

Books by Louisiana natives or about the state

Layout of second floor color coded. From right to left, blue section I and O, Red section J, Black section K and L, Yellow section M, and Green section N and H.

Second Floor by Colors

At SUSLA University Library, we have divided the Library of Congress classes and subclasses into the four color-coded subject areas mentioned above:  

  1. Humanities
  2. Natural Sciences
  3. Social Sciences
  4. Business

These sections can be found on the second floor of the University Library located on the Martin Luther King, Jr. campus. 

Here are full lists of the classes that can be found in each section. 

Humanities (black section) chart includes General Works (A), Philosophy (B), Folklore (GR), Physical Education (GV), Music (M), Art (N), English and Literature (P-PT), Foreign Language (PC), and Information Science (Z)

Natural Sciences (Red) Section

Natural sciences (red section) classification chart includes Mathematics (QA), Science (QB), Physics (QC), Chemistry (QD), Biology (QH), Medicine (R), Agriculture (S), and Technology (T).

Humanities (Black) Section

In addition to containing books classified in the humanities, the black section of shelving also houses the Black Literature Collection. 

Social Sciences (yellow section) chart includes psychology( BF), History (C-F), Geography (G), Anthropology (GN), Sociology (H), Political Science (J), Law (K), Education (L-LH), Military Science (U), and Naval Science (V).

Social Sciences (Yellow) Section

Commerce/ Business (light green section) chart includes Statistics (HA), Economics (HB), Business (HF), Marketing (HG), Public Finance (HJ), and Typing (Z).

Commerce/ Business (Light Green) Section

In addition to containing the books classed under Business, this section houses the Louisiana Literature Collection.

 

Learning Resource Center (LRC)

 

The LRCserves the downtown Metro and supports the following programs:

  • radiologic technology,
  • phlebotomy,
  • health information technology,
  • surgical technology,
  • respiratory therapy,
  • and nursing.

The LRC's collection also includes some biographies, fiction, and general reference materials.

Call Numbers

Call Number Example. Three book spines with spine labels. Example spine label with call number Blk. Lit. HV 9950 F655 2017 is magnified in top right corner.

Each book's call number is located on its spine. The call number helps determine the shelf location of each book. 

SUSLA University Library uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) System. 

Class/ Subclass
LCC divides information into 21 classes, represented by letter of the alphabet. For instance, in the example above HV corresponds with Social pathology, social and public welfare, and criminology.
Classification number
The number immediately following the class is the classification number. It points to a more specific subtopic within the class. 9950 deals with prisons and corrections in the United States, which is fitting for the example book: Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America.
Cutter number
The cutter number is based on the author's last name, Forman. For arrangement purposes, cutter numbers for the same author may differ at different libraries. 
Sometimes two cutter numbers are used. The second cutter number refers to the subject or geographic location. 
Publication year
The publication year may or may not be included in a call number. It is a matter of institutional practice. 

Reading a Call Number. Example column compared to purpose column. Line 1: Blk. Lit. (Black Literature Collection) corresponds with Library Location. Line 2: 1: HV corresponds with Class/ subclass. Line 3: 9950 corresponds with Classification number. Line 4: F655 corresponds with Cutter number. Line 5: 2017 corresponds with Publication year.

EBSCO Discovery Service