Clinical Laboratory Science is divided into two main sections: Part I, Basic Laboratory Techniques, and Part II, Clinical Laboratory Specializations.[...]Content in [Part I] addresses traditional core content related to fundamental principles and practices in the laboratory. In addition, foundation knowledge continues to be refined and expanded in each new edition. [Part II] of the book addresses the principles of testing, physiology, analysis by laboratory methods, and applicable diseases or disorders and provides related case studies with critical thinking group-discussion questions in each chapter. The emphasis in each clinical chapter is on new or emerging point-of-care testing.
Providing a wide array of full-color photos, illustrations, and photomicrographs, Graff's Textbook of Urinalysis and Body Fluids, Third Edition features short, easy-to-digest chapters, and an extensive array of built-in study aids to help you master key content.--Back cover.
Gain quick access to today's most important diagnostic tests and procedures with Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference, 13th Edition! In this bestselling handbook, concise test entries are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic testing and research. Each test includes vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. To simplify lookup, related tests are cross-referenced. From the expert author team of Kathleen, Timothy, and Theresa Pagana, this reference offers convenient A-to-Z thumb tabs, a compact size, and a durable cover for everyday use on the job.
For courses in beginning and advanced hematology for MLS and MLT students.
Clinical Laboratory Hematology, 3rd Edition, continues its stellar reputation as a comprehensive, yet reader-friendly, resource for all levels of hematology laboratory education, offering a visually engaging design and effective learning features that help students master the content.
Teaching and Learning Experience:
Designed for both MLT and MLS students , the text provides a beneficial and economical resource for laboratory science programs that offer both levels of instruction and includes a wealth of learning features. Each chapter features a consistent format with a striking visual design, making it easy for the reader to find information on each topic. Complemented by a variety of ancillary materials designed to help instructors be more efficient and effective and students more successful.
Introduction to Diagnostic Microbiology for the Laboratory Sciences provides a foundation in microbiology that is essential for a career as a medical laboratory technologist/technician (MLT). A key text for students and a helpful reference for practitioners, it reviews the microorganisms most commonly encountered in clinical settings and clearly explains basic laboratory procedures.This text provides a concise overview of topics and facilitates comprehension with learning objectives, key terms, case studies, and review questions. In addition, the text includes laboratory exercises, eliminating the need for a separate laboratory manual. Covering content required in the MLT curriculum and featured on the certification exam, this accessible text will help prepare students for a career in laboratory science.Key Features* Reviews the microorganisms most important in clinical practice* Explains basic laboratory procedures, such as specimen collection and staining * Includes laboratory exercises in the text-no need for a separate manual* Serves as a helpful on-the-job reference for laboratory practitioners* Provides practice questions to help students prepare for the medical technology certification examCHAPTER PEDAGOGY: Chapter Outline, Key Terms, Learning Objectives, Procedures, Laboratory Exercises, Case Studies, Review QuestionsINSTRUCTOR RESOURCES: Image Bank with 247 photos and illustrations; PowerPoint Presentations per chapter; Laboratory Exercise Worksheets; and a Test Bank with 450 multiple choice questions and a 225-question exam.Introduction to Diagnostic Microbiology for the Laboratory Sciences is on the recommended reading list to prepare for the ASCP MLT exam. (American Society for Clinical Pathology, Medical Laboratory Technician exam)
The third edition of Phlebotomy: A Competency-Based Approach was designed to provide a complete introduction to the practice of phlebotomy, with complete coverage of safety procedures, equipment, point-of-care testing, and other skills. The textbook speaks directly to students and encourages them to identify and apply the concepts learned.
The text focuses on "need-to-know" information, and explains the reasoning behind the clinical information for a well-rounded and practical learning experience.
It is suitable for phlebotomy certification programs, medical laboratory technician programs, medical assistant programs, and even independent and distance learning courses.
